Seth Barron is the associate editor of City Journal and project director of the NYC Initiative at the Manhattan Institute.

Claire Berlinski, a City Journal contributing editor, is an American journalist who lives in Paris. She is the author of There Is No Alternative: Why Margaret Thatcher Matters.

Theodore Dalrymple is a contributing editor of City Journal, the Dietrich Weismann Fellow at the Manhattan Institute, and the author of many books, including Out into the Beautiful World.

Daniel DiSalvo is an associate professor of political science in the Colin Powell School at the City College of New York–CUNY and a senior fellow at the Manhattan Institute.

Stephen Eide is a senior fellow at the Manhattan Institute.

Frank Furedi is emeritus professor of sociology at the University of Kent in the U.K. and the author of What’s Happened to the University? A Sociological Exploration of Its Infantilisation.

Nicole Gelinas is a City Journal contributing editor, a senior fellow at the Manhattan Institute, and the author of After the Fall: Saving Capitalism from Wall Street—and Washington.

Emmett Hare is a political consultant in Brooklyn.

Andrew Klavan is a novelist and City Journal contributing editor. His podcast is featured Monday through Thursday at the

Heather Mac Donald is the Thomas W. Smith Fellow at the Manhattan Institute, a contributing editor of City Journal, and the author of The War on Cops.

Myron Magnet, City Journal’s editor-at-large and its editor from 1994 through 2006, is a recipient of the National Humanities Medal. His latest book is The Founders at Home.

Steven Malanga is the senior editor of City Journal, the George M. Yeager Fellow at the Manhattan Institute, and the author of Shakedown: The Continuing Conspiracy Against the American Taxpayer.

John Michaelson is Chief Investment Officer of Michaelson Capital Partners LLC.

Dennis Saffran is a Queens-based appellate attorney. He can be reached on Twitter @dennisjsaffran.

Amity Shlaes, who chairs the board of the Calvin Coolidge Presidential Foundation and serves as presidential scholar at the King’s College, is author of Coolidge and The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression.

Mene Ukueberuwa is the assistant editor of City Journal.


Kerry Jackson is the Pacific Research Institute’s fellow in California studies. Rafael A. Mangual is the deputy director of legal policy at the Manhattan Institute. Marcus A. Winters is a senior fellow at the Manhattan Institute and an associate professor at Boston University. Pierre Yared is a professor at Columbia Business School and a director of the Richard Paul Richman Center for Business, Law and Public Policy at Columbia University.


For over ten years, Jason Kernevich and Dustin Summers have been working together as The Heads of State. They’ve created award-winning posters, book covers, branding, and illustrations for a diverse and impressive list of clients, and they teach graphic design and illustration at the Tyler School of Art. Alberto Mena is a graphic designer in New York. Harvey Wang is a New York–based photographer whose latest book, From Darkroom to Daylight, explores the dramatic change from film to digital in photography and features portraits and interviews with important figures in the field. Seth Wenig is a staff photographer with the Associated Press in New York. He graduated from the University of Michigan and studied journalism at the University of Missouri. 


City Journal is a publication of the Manhattan Institute for Policy Research (MI), a leading free-market think tank. Are you interested in supporting the magazine? As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, donations in support of MI and City Journal are fully tax-deductible as provided by law (EIN #13-2912529).

Further Reading

Up Next